Today I gave my presentation in my Technical Communications class and found out that when I get excited about my speech I have a rising terminal. A rising terminal is when a sentence starts out in a softer tone then ends up more intense. Most like a radio or ballgame announcer, and during my speech “Let’s Get Readyyyy to Rumbleeee” did not start to play when I was through talking. Something work on.

So after listening to about 60 speeches today, and building gripes, I have comprised a short and concise list of what is important to me and hopefully to you about public speaking.

1) Don’t get caught up in the details in a speech. Be direct and to the point. People stop listening if you ramble on forrrrreeeeverrrr (catch the Sandlot reference?)

2)Fake it til you make it. One of the key rules I live by. Most of the time I don’t need to fake confidence but when giving speeches being confident is the #1 key! If you are scared, you probably look scared.

3) Third and final rule. Talk to the audience not at the audience. Address the individuals in the room on a personal level and have them actually learn something instead of feeding them useless higher level junk that you don’t even know yourself. What I hate more than seeing a fellow colleague not knowing what they’re talking about it them PRETENDING they know something about what they’re talking about.

Another day, another class, another speech. Back to the grind. Ciao!

Diane

